August 19, 2011

  • spontaneous psychic vision


    In this context, “psychic vision” is defined as seeing something that is right before you despite having your eyes closed or blindfolded or hoodwinked (I have always wanted to use that word in a sentence). I always sorta figured it could be done, but never felt strongly enough to argue about it, or even give the subject much thought. Then it happened to me.

    I had cataract surgery last week. Right eye Wednesday, left eye Thursday. It was an enormously big deal, literally a life-changing experience. I was, and remain, on a massive spiritual and emotional roller-coaster ride.

    I should probably mention here that the second surgery was pretty hard on me, mainly because I could sorta see what was going on. This was not the case with the first surgery, as I was almost blind in the right eye. Anyway, when the nurse stuck the needle in my eye–and kept it in for about three hours that lasted less than a minute in real time–I thought I was gonna freak. I was so tense, you could have dropped a quarter on me and it would have bounced to the ceiling. Kathy could sense my tension and distress from an adjoining observation room. Even the nurse commented.

    And while the operation was going on, it took all my self-control to keep from just going nuts and flailing around and screaming because I could see the needle coming and all. Like I said, it was kinda rough.

    When the operation was over, my relief was palpable.  Leaving the second floor surgical suite, down a glass enclosed hallway, then down in the elevator, and back up again because the first floor men’s room was locked to keep out street people, then back down to the parking lot and out to my wife’s car–through all that, I was looking around, pointing out and commenting to Kathy about how much I could see, and how clearly it all appeared.

    Anyway, I was sitting in my wife Kathy’s Jeep right after the second surgery, and I realized that my left eye was supposed to be taped shut.  I was afraid the tape was coming off prematurely because I could see a near-by building. I took off the big sunglasses they give you and asked Kathy to check. She reported that my left eye was securely taped shut. I covered my open right eye, and I could still see and describe what was going on.

    This period lasted maybe twenty minutes. I don’t expect to ever do this again, since I was in an extraordinarily altered state of consciousness and I had no intention of doing it in the first place–it just happened.

    When I was talking this over with Kathy, she pointed out that as a shaman, I am used to being in and working in an altered state of consciousness. Other folks may have experienced this phenomenon after eye surgery and dismissed it. I dunno. I just know what I saw.

    I regret that I have no big punch line, but in my experience and observation, that is usually the way it is with true stories.

    __________________
     

Comments (2)

  • I agree, that is how it usually is with true stories.  Interesting experience with your vision after surgery.  I think if I had had that surgery I probably would have felt the exact same way in terms of anxiety.  I can’t even stand getting the glaucoma “puff” test at my annual eye exam.  

  • I’m flattened by your contents keep up the excellent work.Alissa

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *