October 17, 2011

  • Happy birthday. . . .


    I turned 64 last week, and it was one of my happiest–and busiest–b-days ever. (and have been too busy to post about it till now)

    First I zoom thirty miles or so to Palmer DMV to get my drivers license renewed.  I had to take an eye exam, and  was so happy and excited, becuse for the first time in my life, I can drive unrestricted–that is, I don’t have to wear glasses to be legal–another cool effect of this summers cataract surgery.

    I ACED the eye test, and the examiner guy was all smiles by the time we got done, happiness being contagious and all.

    Then back to Wasilla, to shop for my sweety at Safeway and Target and AIH (for Red Devil–that is stuff you put in your wood stove to keep down the creosite, for non-Alaskans). At every stop, I was chatting and joking with other customers and staff–this is something I never used to do, but I have opened up emotionally a lot lately, largely due to the eye surgery and serious transformational psychology work with A Course in Miracles.

    Then back to my place for the stuff in the fridge, then up to Three Bears for more shopping, then I headed north.

    Quick stop at the Willow library for a potty break and some comp time. Then up to my sweety’s to unload her groceries and all, then up to the Sunshine Clinic to get a broken incisor repaired. They gave me a break on the billing–didn’t charge me for all the work, as they know I am on a low budget, God bless’em.

    Finally–back to my place. Took care of the cats, and settled down with a video and some pistachios and a bottle of Martinelli’s sparkling cran-apple juice. Yum!

    Said it before, I’ll say it again–life is good.

    (Thanks again, Kathy!–I owe everything good about me to you–okay, and God.)

Comments (1)

  • Happy birthday, young man. I myself am about to turn 70, and today my daughter threw me a party. Many happy returns to both of us.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *