Month: March 2012

  • Surgery is set for next week

    Finally got the surgery to have the frostbit toes amputated–next week, April 4.  I am looking forward to finally healing up, after months of disability and pain.

    No idea how I’ll pay for any of it, being pretty much broke.   I am getting groceries via food stamps, clothing free from the Community Closet in Big Lake. Heck, in a good year, my income is below the poverty level, and it has been three years since I had a “good’ year.  But really, there is nothing good or bad, but thinking made it so–Shakespeare said it first.

    I keep thinking about Matthew 5:30, which says  (more or less) that is preferable to lose a few body parts than to go to Hell altogether.  When I was rich, had a corrupt political job, and spent enough on alcohol to put a kid through college, I was living in Hell.

    Now–despite the pain, poverty, and disability–there is no one on the planet with whom I would trade places.

    Not that I am in any way special–I was just lucky enough to have some really good teachers, and smart enough to pay attention to them.