Month: June 2012

  • a little medical update

    For the few who care if I live or die. . . .Last week, the dressing came off my left foot–the one that had four toes whacked off last month–so I decided to leave it off.  The stitches have been taken out, which was excruciatingly painful, since some scabs and stuff had become ingrown.  Seriously, I was ouching and yipping at fisrt, and by the time the doc was done, I was screaming like a woman.  I imagine the folks in the waiting room were appalled.

    Anyway, now I can see what’s going on, and I was surprised to see how much healing of thr frostbite on my sole  is still needed.  What new flesh there is has that shiny, Barbie-doll look, kind  of like you see on burn victims, and this is what hurts more than the actual amputation site.

    The left hand is almost all healed up as is the right foot.  My right hand is still a bit messed up–the pads on my thumb and index finger pain me when I button clothing.

    I must be getting better, though–there were no crip carts available at Safeway today, so I used a regular cart as a walker, which worked out okay.

    Next–home, then off to the UPS store for mail, the laundromat for drinking water, and Three Bears for some free coffee.  Then home, lunch,  and getting flat with a cat and a book.

    Life is good.