September 15, 2011

  • Dumpster Deva comes through again

    Last week I made an interesting discovery at the dumpster–two pieces of furniture sitting on the ground, a chest of drawers and a drop-front desk.  Well, sez I, this looks too good to pass up.

    So I  removed the drawers from the chest and schlepped them a hundred yards or so to my cabin.  Then I commence to drag, and shove and walk the chest itself  , bangity-bump, oops whoof ouch , and managed to hump it up onto the porch without killing myself.  (No joke–I have a hernia that needs repair, and if the thing gets strangulated, I am dead in 24 hours or so unless emergency surgery is imminent.)

    Next the desk.  It is one of those tall things with a drop front, and five drawers under it.  It was obviously home-made, decent wood, sorta Pennsyvania Dutch looking.  Getting that thing up on the porch was a tremendous amount of work–I ended up walking it up the porch stairs.

    I had originally planned to keep the chest of drawers and sell the desk or something, but after I looked them over carefully, I decided to keep the desk. The chest was cheaply made, mostly press-board.

    They sat on my porch for a few days while I figured out how to get the thing into my crowded 10×12 foot cabin.  The desk would replace this old white resin patio table–I think Kathy scrounged it from a dumpster about 25 years ago, and it didn’t help it when it flew off the top of my 1984 Eagle wagon, when  I had been using it as part of my Talkeetna street vendor set-up.  (BTW, the good folks of Talkeetna banded together to run me out of town–the rich gift shop owners evidently resented the crumbs I was getting that fell off their table.  But I digress.)  Over the years it had accumulated two shelf units and a shelf stereo which mostly didn’t work and a raft of old merchadise and papers and stuff.

    Anyway, I got all the stuff boxed up, the shelf units and table moved out and into my storage unit, and the desk moved in.  Getting it around the fridge was the tricksy part–I had to remove a small bookcase  in the process, and some of the books are still boxed up and in my car.

    I love it.  I actually have drawers for things like jeans now.  The cats are gonna have to get used to it–just this morning, I caught  two kittens  climbing up the folding chair to get to the book case part.

Comments (2)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *