November 21, 2005

  • “Miracle” Anti-aging stuff?  Yep, seems so. .. .


    Backstory–this scientist was doing anti-aging research, and  found something that seemed to work really well with rats.  Then again, who wants  bunch of spry old rats running around?  Well, she did some FDA protocol human trials, and the stuff seems to work on people.  She is marketing it under the name “Juvenon”–google it for loads of info on the clinical trials and stuff.


    Anyway, I wanted to try it, but didn’t want to pay the price, which is more than I can afford.  All it is, is a combination of acetyl l-carnitine (whihc SuSu takes anyway) and alpha lipoic acid (which I take–neat symmetry, huh?)  Anyway, I couldn’t find the recommended dosage of the stuff, but a rival product says to take 400 mg of carnitine and 200 of ALA–one to three times a day.  Then I found another product,  a generic marketed by Rexall and sold at Wal-Mart) which says much the same thing–and it is affordable, at $8.52/60 capsules.  (Yes, I loathe and abhor Wal-mart, like many others.  And like many others, I sometimes hold my nose and shop there, thus being a sort of accomlice after the fact to their many crimes and misdemeanors.  But I digress…..)


    I have been taking it for about a week.  I sleep better, have more energy and fewer aches and pains.  Then again, the damned disease that SuSu and I  share is noted for its cruel and inhumane way of easing up on the symptoms for a while, then lowering the boom on you just when you start being more active.  So it may be too soon to tell.  But I am optimistic.


    Which, given my spiritual and visual leanings, makes me an optimistic gnostic  presbyoptic astigmatic.


    Thank God, I don’t have asthma. . . . .

Comments (7)

  • Hmmmm… and I’m an arthritic anarchic presbyoptic asthmatic gnostic psychic, I think. But that’s not the whole story, I suppose.

  • If you two mean you have a fatigue type thing like ME, I think I share that too.Also Asthma and type 2 dibetes. I’m not psychic though. Errrrr….Do I win anything?

    Thanks for the snow info! Subbing to you as I’m subbed to Su_Su so I might as well go for the set I think.

  • I take Alpha Lipoic, too.  And about a billion other supplements for whatever my fibro-rheumo-fatigue thing is…

    Anyway, I really like it, too. 

  • Acetyl l-carnitine, huh?  Is that good for fatigue? 

  • Let me just say this I have asthma and it is a real pain. I usto have to sit on a nebuliser for up to a haffhour. Up to three or four times a day. But as I got older I did not have as meney problems. But still need to use a inhaler once and a wile when it gets real bad. So yay you are locky not to have it.

  • Catbert tagged me for the “five weird things” game, and I’m s’pozed to tag five more people to play. Play along if you like.

  • Wasp dudes! Awesome stuff keep it up.
    human growth hormone

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *