August 22, 2011

  • Hey, cool shades!

    Now that I have something resembling normal vision due to  wildly successful cataract surgery, I have having  lots of fun shopping for cheap sunglasses.  I need them, since I have so much inflammation and photosensitivity, my eye doc doubled up my steroid dosage and prescribed another drug to deal witht the side effects from the steroids.

    Anyway, I was at this box store up the hill  from my cabin (Three Bears Alaska), and I found a  pair of amber aviator sunglasses.  I bought’em, wore them a few times when it was overcast.  Felt like Joe Cool.

    Then I got my hair cut short, and the big-lensed shades didn’t look right.  As I was re-attaching the original $8.99 price tag and attaching my own $5 price tag, I noticed the rhinestones set into the temple pieces.  Evidently, they were women’s sunglasses, which might explain why they didn’t look right on me..

    Cut to my stand, this little retail biz I run out of my Mazda MPV.  A man my age stopped, looked at some Schrade Old Timers I had on sale, and tried on the shades.  He liked them, but passed when it turned out they didn’t fold up small enough to fit into a glasses case.

    He came back a few hours later and asked me what I would take for my jacket, this garish red, which, and blue thing I wear as a joke.  He gave me $15 for it.

    And $3 for the shades.

    Which I had originally paid $1.99 for.

    I had gotten the jacket out of the dumpster.

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *