September 1, 2011

  • Ouch!!!!!

    And furthermore, yikes.

    Yesterday, I got a call from the Alaska Vision Center, the  place that has been doing the aftercare for my glaucoma, and cataract surgery.  Woman says they want another $424 from me, which I do not have.

    I talked to her this morning.  She was very apologetic about her mistake.  I told her I do not need aplogies–I need $424.  I reminded her that we had had a  contract–she had assured me weeks ago that $424 would cover ALL the expenses of the next visits, including a prescription for new bifocals.  I reminded her that by asking for double the amount we had agreed on, this constituted a  breach of contract, and that courts tend to take a dim view of that.

    She said she would talk to the billing people, and I will find out tomorrow what they want to do.  I told her that the honest and ethical thing to do would be to  write off the $424 since it was their error that caused the problem.  I do not expect them to do this–unless one of their managers  decides that they will get more than $424 in bad publicity if they continue to try to renege on our agreement.

    (Had I been given correct info, I would have paid off my cataract surgery  in time over a few months,and I would not be writing this now.  By paying it off all  the surgery at once, my FBO account is now virtually empty.  I still have the required minimum in it to keep it open).

    I may be reduced to begging for more money, I dunno.    Evidently the local Lions Club has  decided–again–not to follow up on their promise to help me.

    I had hoped to open my stand today–weather only let me work two days this week.  But my landlord said she wants me to work in the office for her this afternoon, despite her promise that she would never  ask me to work for her when I had a chance to earn some money for myself.  I am not happy about being what amounts to an indentured servant.

    Right now, I am feeling a tad discouraged, beat up, and broke down.

    This will pass.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *