November 4, 2005

  • Senate Votes to Rape ANWR


    I saw the headline in the paper today.  Ted Stevens and his rich corrupt cronies finally managed to beg, borrow and steal enough votes in the Senate to open up ANWR to oil drilling.  Thus some of the last pristine Arctic wilderness on the planet goes down the toilet, so that Joe Sixpack can drive his fucking SUV to Wal-mart for a pair of undershorts made in China.  I am disgusted, but not surprised.  Thus far throughout history, the domesticated primates who infest this planet have shown all the restraint of a drunk in a whorehouse with regards to wisely using the available resources.


    You know who’s really ticked off?  My grandfather, Red Eagle..  (Five-times great-grandfather, actually.)  He was one of the first radical Greens–wanted his tribe to eschew all European influences, even firearms, and go back to hunting with a bow and arrow.


    I got a flash from him this morning.  “There will be great sorrow.  The earth will not take this intrusion lightly,” he told me.  So don’t be surprised if the drilling is accompanied by loss of life, or if there are major storms and whatnot when the drilling starts.


     Historical note:  He and his followers, the Red Sticks, took on andy jackson (we traditionally lower-case his hated name, as a sign of contempt), and lost–but only because jackson coerced a bunch of Cherokees into fighting for him. 


    He rewarded them with the Trail of Tears.

Comments (5)

  • Oh my.  The planet isn’t going to like that one bit.  Earthquakes, hurricanes, and tsunamis, oh my!

  • So…e.e.cummings was a native american, too.  How cool.

    But, I hear ya.  Loud and clear.

  • I’ll probably never get to go there, but it was nice to think there was still one uncisturbed area in the country.

  • the whole thing kinda make me wanna puke in my mouth… blah!

  • hey there smartee-pants a Mazda MPV *IS* a sport utility vehicle (SUV). hypocrite!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *